spekecuprunnersup-2012Roger Duggleby, Chairman of Hill & Valley LTC
presenting the Speke Challenge Cup to this year’s winners
Alan Hunt and Louise Crawford

A month after the annual Coln Valley Mixed Doubles Tournament took place on Saturday 16 June, the weather finally enabled Hill & Valley Lawn Tennis Club to finish the finals on Sunday 15 July.  They were incorporated into what was a great weekend of tennis in Chedworth involving the Chedworth Olympics on Saturday and the Junior Club Championships all day on Sunday.  At 2.00pm the tournament finalists gathered under the gaze of an enthusiastic crowd of adult and junior spectators. In an exciting and sporting contest Alan Hunt and Louise Crawford won the prestigious Speke Cup, beating Hill & Valley hopefuls Sarah Calder and John Boughey.  In the all-Chedworth final for the Scott-Smith Salver, Chrissie Kenning and Dan Heaps emerged triumphant for the second year running, beating Claire Watson and Dominic Chesmore.  After the event everyone enjoyed an excellent tea watching some very impressive play by the juniors.

It was the first time in 25 years that the club had been unable to complete the tournament on the actual day with rain stopping play several times.  However there was a near total turnout and everyone was in extraordinarily good heart despite – or even perhaps because of – the recent spell of dreadful weather.

Throughout the day the atmosphere was fantastic and the club received many compliments about the organisation, the fabulous courts, the lunch and delicious puddings and cakes.  The committee would like to thank everyone who had a hand in making the event such a success both before and on the day.  Hill & Valley is also extremely grateful to its overall sponsors for the seventh year running, Far Frontiers Travel and Arcturus, and to local companies C P Jefferies for sponsoring the balls and D&J Sports for providing the tennis bag and accessories for the raffle prize.

Runners up for the Speke Cup
Hill & Valley members John Boughey and Sarah Calder
with Chairman Roger Duggleby.